A reaction to my article about Herman Cain

Leave a comment

October 13, 2011 by bowmanaj

Yesterday, I got a response from a professor in the “Farmer School of Evil” concerning my article about Herman Cain’s political campaign. This is his exact email, word for word. My response is listed below.


“Subject: Herman Cain

Interesting article, but Herman Cain is more accomplished and qualified than Obama will EVER be.

Don’t hate someone because they are a black conservative. Blacks are allowed to be other than liberal.

Regards,
Jeffrey W. Merhout, Ph.D., CPA (Inactive)
Associate Professor of MIS; Chief Departmental Advisor; ISACA Academic Advocate; Alpha Kappa Psi Faculty Advisor
Decision Sciences and Management Information Systems; 3124 Farmer School of Business (office)
800 E. High St., Rm 3095, MSC 1033; Miami University (mailing address); Oxford, Ohio 45056-3600
Please consider the environment before printing. Go green. Keep it on the screen.
(513) 529-8340; (513) 529-4740 (fax)
JMerhout@muohio.edu

“If people cannot write well, they cannot think well, and if they cannot think well, others will do their thinking for them.” George Orwell
“It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.” Aristotle
“Plans fail for lack of counsel, but with many advisors they succeed.” Proverbs 15:22
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++”

Well Mr. Merhout,

There are several things wrong about your response, in addition to it being partially rude.

1. In the article there is only a single mention of Barack Obama, and it said that he was merely a candidate. There is no mention of President Barack Obama being better or more accomplished than Herman Cain. However, after a second thought, it could be argued that Obama is more qualified and accomplished since Obama actually won the Presidency. However, that is not the point of the article, therefore you insinuating I am pro-current administration is a failed train of thought, that of which I attribute to paranoia and stereotyping members of the media. In other words you think I am for Obama because I work for the “liberal media,” because you are on the other side of the political spectrum.

2. I wasn’t “hating” on Cain was a conservative African American. I was/am upset about several of his policies and trains of thought about his public relations. First, I dislike his policies toward human rights. I would logically assume, hypothetically speaking, if he is elected and there are no religious minorities in his cabinet he will be sued. Second, him starting his argument about the Occupy protests with the phrase, “Now I don’t have the facts to back this up,” is not something I want the Presidents of the United States of America to say, as I addressed in detail in my column.

3. The original title of the article was a poor decision, but it was made by my editors. They have the final say over what goes to print and you are more than welcome to ask them about it. Their contact information is listed on The Miami Student Website. I did not suggest that title and when I saw when it was printed, I emailed them right away. There are other mistakes, however, you can view my original edition of the article on my blog. Yes, I did type “Parry” instead of “Perry” because I am a Stephen Colbert fan. I adore satire of all forms and that is why Colbert and Stewart are often featured in my pieces.

4. It should be noted in typical polite business oriented emails, you should start off your emails with a greeting. Even it is as simple as “Mr. Bowman,.” It comes off very rude and abrupt when you don’t. I would before an open an honest conversation with you about politics because I love discussion, but it comes off that you are not willing to listen to me on the basis of one article without reading my other pieces. You can find nearly all of my articles listed on my blog.

5. Why did I publish your email and my response on my blog? Simple. Transparency in government, the press, and anyone employed in a public profession, including yourself. I do not hide my personal beliefs but am cautious about who I present them to. Although it appears you have made a substantial career, you should be careful who you shout them at. You never know who is willing to listen, including, potential employers.

Sincerely,

Mr. Andrew J. Bowman
President MU- RTDNA
VP of Publicity- MU- SPJ
WMSR Sports Broadcaster
Essayist- The Miami Student
Double Major- Journalism/Sports Studies

Leave a Reply

